Jersey Shore, located along the West shore of the Susquehanna River, was once called Waynesburg. It is said that it was named after Anthony Wayne, a famous Revolutionary War General who served at Valley Forge in 1777 under General George Washington. In the late 1770’s, the town’s first doctor, James Davidson, settled in Waynesburg, who also served under General Washington.
The Scotch-Irish families that began settling on the Eastern branch of the Susquehanna River referred to Waynesburg as the Jersey shore as most of the settlers in Waynesburg were from New Jersey who moved to the area to own farmland after the Revolutionary War. For over 30 years, the two names were used to describe the settlement. However, as more and more people came to settle here, the name Jersey Shore won! In 1812, surveyors made a complete map of town streets in 1812; and in 1826, Jersey Shore was formally incorporated as a town. Many of the historical homes are still standing today.
Jersey Shore, located in Southern Lycoming County, close to the Clinton County border, is approximately 15 minutes from Williamsport and Lock Haven. With Route 220 to its North, Jersey Shore provides easy access to not only Lock Haven University and the Pennsylvania College of Technology, but also many recreation opportunities along the Susquehanna River, Pine Creek and Larry’s Creek, as well as downhill and cross country skiing, trout fishing, hiking, mountain biking, camping, snowmobiling, hunting, outlet shopping, and much, much more.
With its small-town atmosphere and picturesque location, Jersey Shore is a unique, pleasant place to both call home or to visit.
If you have questions or suggestions for this website, please contact us at:
232 Smith Street
Jersey Shore, PA 17740